Between Starving Artist and J.R.R. Tolkien

I am an author.  I have words.  I put them on paper (yellow legal pads, napkins, receipts, notebooks, computers, whatever is most convenient).  Thus, I am an author.  However, the word generally conjures one of two images.  First, there is the Starving Artist: inhabits a hole in a wall, lives on Ramen noodles and cereal, frequents any and every coffee shop (‘cause, you know, that’s what we do) and is completely, 100% dedicated to one’s “craft”, even though no one has wanted to publish them.   The other image is that of the rich and famous, handing out signatures and smiles at book signings and playing poker with James Patterson (bonus points to any who got the “Castle” reference :).

I am neither.  I walk a fine line somewhere in the large void between Starving Artist and the next J.R.R. Tolkien.  I am a middle-class citizen in the writing world.  I have a day job.  In reality, I am a special education teacher.  I work with high school students that have multiple disabilities. If being a writer is not enough to drive me insane, my job certainly can do the trick 🙂  At the edge of reality, I dance with words…I walk with them, flirt with them, fight with them, love them and curse them.  Someday I may graduate to one of the stereotypical views of “authors”.   Until then, I am grateful  for my in-betweeness.  I’m a wannabe, gonnabe, maybe someday.  For now, I’m just enjoying the journey.

                                -S.D. Bullard

~ by sdbullard on March 27, 2012.

One Response to “Between Starving Artist and J.R.R. Tolkien”

  1. I’m married to a SPED teacher and the chair of our Christian Writers Group here in WA State is also a SPED teacher . . . so I’m quite familiar with the crosses you bear!

Leave a Reply

 
