“Short Story” Disclaimer

I am not very good at brevity: I am the person who, when given an assignment in school of writing a paper between 5-7 pages (or what have you), would write about 10 pages, and that only with a lot of restraint and cutting.  I tend to be an absurdly long-winded individual.  Thus the very notion of a “short story” has always been something of a struggle for me.  I always feel that if I care enough about the characters to write about them in the first place, I owe them more than a couple thousand words.  It would behoove me to improve the art, as getting short stories published in magazines and such is a wonderful first step into the world of publishing (a world I very much would like a visa to).

Perhaps my favorite of my endeavors at such an undertaking turned out to be nearly 20 pages long.  Despite the length, I feel it is a story worth sharing, so I decided to post it small pieces at a time.  It lends itself well to this, as it is already broken into some 15 smaller sections.  If any of you are so inclined to join my characters in their journey, I welcome you.  And I hope you find some enjoyment in my not-so-short-story, The Folded Flag.

– S.D. Bullard

~ by sdbullard on April 13, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
