The 3 A.M. Epiphany

I shouldn’t be writing this post right now.  I should be going to bed.  It is five minutes until my self-designated bed-time and I have at least half an hour’s worth of stuff to do before I can get there.  So, unless I utilize some super-freaky new math, I don’t think I’ll make it in time.  Yet, here I sit, with my keyboard and my thoughts and my words and I give a shrug and figure, the bed can wait (of course, come 5 a.m., I will be singing a different tune).

I had to share my latest Barnes and Noble score, though.  I spent nearly five hours at B&N yesterday, working on queries, cover designs, my new novel and sundry other writing-related topics.  As always, I finished off my visit with a perusal of some of my favorite spots: inspirational fiction (looking out for new Ted Dekker), kid’s books (looking out for new Graeme Base) and, of course, the writing section.  It was there I stumbled across my new little gem.  A smallish, purple book called The 3 A.M. Epiphany by Brian Kiteley.  It has a series of interesting writing exercises that are specific in intent and give a word-count, but leave enough open to the imagination to truly help uncover the writer’s voice and let the mind have a bit of a frolic. I read through the introduction last night during Big Bang Theory commercial breaks, and I am excited to get started on them.  My plan is to include at least one a week (maybe more) on here.  They will all be listed under the category of 3 A.M. Epiphany.  At the moment, I am thrilled with my new little treasure.  I hope I will find it every bit as stimulating as I put it to use.  I will let you know later if I consider it a “must-have” for all writers, like the “You Know You’re a Writer If…” book.  Hope you enjoy the outcomes of my purchase as much as I plan to enjoy them!  And now, I am off to(ish) bed.

– S.D. Bullard

~ by sdbullard on April 15, 2012.

4 Responses to “The 3 A.M. Epiphany”

  1. well done. all your skill is in evidence

  2. I love the 3 AM Epiphany! It’s one of my favorite writing books to jumpstart my muse. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
