The Road…?

One of my favorite poems is The Road Not Taken by Robert Frost.  I used to consider this something of my own personal life story.  However, time and time again, I have tried to take a road only to find a road block, construction or detour signs.

Now, I find that I am more of a “road unknown” individual.  I don’t remember, from when I was a kid, how old I thought I would have to be before I had it all together, had my life figured out.  My guess is, I considered it some advanced age, such as 18 or 20.  Now, a couple years shy of 30 (not quite the 48 I tell my students I am :P) I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up.

I have several attractive options in front of me, each one as nearly impossible as the next.  Of course, there is always the dream I’ve had since around eight of being a famous, full-time novelist.  The other options are almost as far-fetched.  However, I plan to take my best shot.   After all, I figure you might as well reach for the stars, even if you think your arms are too short.  There’s no telling what I will find or grasp along the way.  My hope is to grasp the star that lights the way down my unknown road.

 

– S.D. Bullard

~ by sdbullard on May 11, 2012.

2 Responses to “The Road…?”

  1. I find its a lot more fun to get lost and take the road no one else can see. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
