Fad Books

I am an opponent of fads.  I don’t like them.  I don’t want to be a part of them.  And it frustrates me when something I genuinely like is part of a fad, because then I feel like I can’t like it anymore.  I especially try to avoid the book fads.  You know the ones I’m talking about: you could probably name off some of the very series I am going to mention.

I held off on Harry Potter for a long time.  It was the in thing.  Everyone who was everyone read Harry Potter.  Me, I turned my nose up at it.  First off, it was a fad.  Second, I was certain there was no way I would enjoy the books.  It just didn’t sound like my kind of thing.  But, there is a reason some books become fad books.  I didn’t touch the series until all the books were out, and I think a couple of the movies.  Then, I started working at a high school.  All the kids were reading or had read the books and wanted to converse with me about them.  In order to speak intelligently on the subject, I decided I’d better at least read one.  Reluctantly, I read the first book.  And I was hooked.  Yes, J.K. Rowling, you caught me, too.  I love the series and have been through it a couple times.

I have still managed to avoid the “Twilight” saga, the after-Harry-fad.  The storyline is still not one that captures my interest, and honestly, the bits and pieces I have read here and there just picking up and flipping through the books have helped me determine I’m not a fan of her writing style.   Though, honestly, I avoided them at first because they were a fad.

The next fad books, I have to admit, I read at the pinnacle of their popularity.  The funny thing is, I had heard about the “Hunger Games” series several years before they swept the nation.  My friends had told me about them, though they weren’t sure I would like them (I’m a happy-ender).  The main reason I chose not to read them at that time, however, was because of the way they are written: I generally cannot stand first-person, present tense.  When they became popular, I decided to give them another look.  Yes, I jumped on the bandwagon.  And I took some others with me.  There are some benefits to this: I could discuss the books and my thoughts about them almost anywhere I went, because SOMEBODY would have read them or would be reading them.  However, I felt like there was a bit of specialness lost as well.  When I discover a book I love, it’s special to me, and there’s a bit of jealousness to the specialness.  I don’t mind sharing it with some people, but so many people almost cheapened it somehow.  Ah well, I’m just strange like that.

One fad I will NOT be joining is the “50 Shades of Grey” book.  Sorry, but I don’t do erotica, no matter how popular it is.  I am, however, wondering about the “Game of Thrones” series.  Anyone have any personal takes on that they can offer.  I’ve read information that gives me conflicting feelings.  I wouldn’t mind some expert insights.  Thanks so much, and keep reading, folks!  Fad books or not, there are some great treasures out there.  What’s your favorite fad book?  What’s your favorite NON-fad book?

– S.D. Bullard

~ by sdbullard on May 18, 2012.

10 Responses to “Fad Books”

  1. I think HP is captivating enough to draw anyone in.. thats the good thing about it. Unless someone utterly hates reading.

  2. My favorite non-fad book:

    http://www.amazon.com/The-Bondage-Breaker%C2%AE-Overcoming-Irrational/dp/0736918140/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

    The Bondage Breaker by Neil Anderson.

  3. Favorite fad books – would also be Harry Potter (I don’t think Tolkiens ever made fad status)
    Favorite Non Fad books – there are too many. I could never choose a favorite book. If we dwindled it to generes I MIGHT be able to choose a favorite.

    • Totally understandable…my list of “favorite books” includes a stack of twenty or more probably, and only a couple are fad books.

  4. I was fortunate enough to get into Harry Potter before it got really big – I think I enjoyed it more because of it.

    This is kinda what’s keeping me from getting into the Hunger Games… Although if I’m honest it’s probably because it’s been described as YA fiction. Smart people have said good things about it, though, so I’ll probably get around to it eventually…

    I did read Twilight – before the movies, thank God – and it’s *definitely* a guilty pleasure. Not a series that could be referred to as “classic literature” by any means, and the writing is sometimes (okay, often) wince-worthy, but it can be fun sometimes to read a total Mary Sue. Even compared to the other three, though, Breaking Dawn was pretty awful. And I can’t see Robert “Eyebrows” Pattinson as anyone’s dream guy…

    I don’t think I’ll be reading 50 Shades of Grey, either. Not that I’m squeamish about sexy things, obviously… 😉 But I was into Laurell K. Hamilton’s Anita Blake novels a while back and at the point when the series basically became her just screwing a bunch of random dudes I got bored with it. Why read about someone having dinner when you could be enjoying your own delicious home-cooked meal, yeah? I mean, the occasional literary sex scene can be *very* interesting in context, but mostly *because* of the context. Seems like this 50 Shades thing pretty much exists for the sole purpose of smut.

  5. Harry Potter’d have to be my favorite fad book, obviously, given that I don’t read that many…

    Favorite NON-fad books? Gosh… May have to go with series for some of these:

    The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher (favorite is probably Dead Beat or Changes)
    The Stand by Stephen King
    The Kingkiller Trilogy by Patrick Rothfuss (of which 2 are currently written)
    The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle
    “French Classics”: Les Miserables & The Hunchback of Notre Dame (both by Victor Hugo), The Three Musketeers & The Count of Monte Cristo (Alexandre Dumas), and The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux (if you’ve seen the musical but haven’t read the book, you’re missing out)
    Probably missing some, but that’s what I’ve got right now…

    • LOVE Harry Potter. Working on the Dresden Files. Haven’t read any Stephen King of Patrick Rothfuss. Have wanted to read The Last Unicorn. Haven’t read Les Mis or Hunchback, but enjoyed Three Musketeers, Count of Monte Cristo and Phantom of the Opera.

Leave a Reply

 
