The Three Little Ninjas and the Big, Bad Giant…

Summer weather.  Outside picnics.  Kids running around playing.  An eclectic hodge-podge of classic stories coming to life?  Isn’t this how everyone spends Friday nights?

I had the immense joy of playing outside, last night, with my eight-year-old niece and two little girls, 4 and 2, who are adopted-type nieces.  It started with a game of chase: first, they were just chasing each other around.  Then, they wanted me to join in, and suddenly, they were ALL chasing me! And not only chasing me, they were karate chopping me.  Then, I’m not sure how it happened, but they decided to switch to hide and seek with me as the seeker.  Two hid under the weeping willow, the other behind another nearby tree.  Taking on the role of Jack and the Beanstalk’s giant, I clomped my way towards them saying “Fee! Fie! Fo! Fum! I smell…” and I would insert random smells here.  When I got to the first tree, I changed roles a little, “knocking” on the leaves, yelling “Little Ninjas, little ninjas, let me come in!”  Giggling, these two little girls didn’t miss a beat as they yelled out, “Not by the hair on our chinny-chin-chins!”  I warned them I would huff and puff and blow their tree in, and then I did it.  We nearly finished the story before we were all distracted by chocolate coated ice cream popsicles.

I thought it was a little amusing that these tiny girls were able to assimilate the story they knew into the game we were playing enough to respond to my comment, even though I had changed some of the words.  It’s fun to see how small children’s minds work.  I got a kick out of it, and so much fun playing with them.  Great summer (er, almost summer) evenings!

– S.D. Bullard

~ by sdbullard on May 19, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
