Crime Drama TV

I watch too many crime drama TV shows.  This is what I have decided.  I can’t help it!  These are the shows I love!  My current list of shows I watch only includes one that is not a crime drama, and that’s Big Bang Theory.   The other shows are NCIS, NCIS: LA, Bones, White Collar, Psych (on DVD) and Castle (on DVD).  And with the exception of White Collar, which as you may have guessed deals with white collar crimes, most of these shows involve solving murders.   I also have a tendency to read crime novels.

Several things of late, however, have convinced me I may get a little too into my shows and books.  Here are some of the reasons I think this:

  • A while ago, my roommate and I were sitting in the living room and we heard a loud thump in the garage.  My response? I turned to my friend and said “We’re going to die.”
  • A FB friend the other day put on her status how some guy had made her day by randomly pulling up to her as she was entering a grocery store and saying “You look very beautiful today.”  While everyone else was commenting on how nice that was, I was thinking, “Look out, honey, that guy is stalking you!”
  • Another FB friend posted the other day “Not working today. Shot in the wrist today.” My first thought was, “You were shot?!”
  • I am constantly thinking “Oh, that would be a good setting for one of those shows” or “This would be good way to start out…maybe some hapless person could find a body there and then…”
  • I often wonder how I would respond if I came across a dead body (I hope I wouldn’t scream like so many people on TV do)
  • I have three or four different routes I take to work (just to throw ‘em off)
  • I found myself thinking the other day, “If you ever find yourself in a murder investigation, don’t lie or hold anything back.  They ALWAYS wind up finding out and it only makes you look guiltier.”

So, do I watch to many of these shows and read too many of the books?  Maybe so.  But I do so love them and plan to continue indulging :).

– S.D. Bullard

~ by sdbullard on June 7, 2012.

4 Responses to “Crime Drama TV”

  1. I can’t help watching true crime shows like 48 Hours or Dateline Mystery. Sometimes I think there’s something wrong with me because I look forward to them on the weekends.

    • I don’t watch the true crime shows often, but I do read true crime books, like Mind Hunter, Anatomy of a Motive, Devil in the White City, etc.

  2. seems like i just heard a story about you in NY that fits into “Oh, that would be a good setting for one of those shows” 😉

Leave a Reply

 
