Problem

I think it’s time to face the facts.  I’ve been in denial for some time now.  But it’s time to admit it.  I think I may have a problem.  A book problem.  There have been signs.  Evidence.  I’ve tried to ignore it, but it’s no good.

I have three bookshelves in my house, one large and two smaller.  Still, this is not enough room.  Books are piled on the table in front on my bookshelves, on the floor of my bedroom.  They accumulate in my back-pack.  One series even has its own special case.  A stack, combined of both audio and traditional books lurk in the back of my SUV.

Not a day goes by that I do not visit at least one of the following sites: library, Barnes and Noble, Amazon.  I maintain membership with at least three libraries.

I hate shopping, but can and will spend hours in Barnes and Noble or Half-Price Books.  And I rarely go to these stores without pen and paper to make notes about books I need to read.

I have at least three books going at any given time: one on CD in my car, one downloaded onto my IPod for when I walk my dog, clean my house, do my dishes etc., and at least one traditional book I hold in my hands and read, flipping pages the old fashioned way.  The list of others I need to read/listen to are so backed up I have to sort through them in order to rank them in importance.

My favorite gifts to give are always books.  I have conversations about characters as though they are real people, my real friends.

I have trouble walking past a bookstore without going in, and have trouble walking out without buying something.  While I’m in there, I feel overwhelmed: there are so many books and so little time to read them all. It’s a wonderful feeling!

So, I may have a problem.  There.  I’ve admitted it.  Is there anyone out there like me?

 

– S.D. Bullard

~ by sdbullard on June 12, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
