The Writer in Me

I watched the movie “Mirror, Mirror” for the first time today (odd to see Julia Roberts as a bad guy.  And what was with those outfits?  But, I digress).  Near the beginning of the movie, the wicked queen says “It’s important to know when you’ve been beaten.”  I turned to my mom, with whom I was watching the movie and said, “Well, that sounds like a line that will be recycled later on.”  My mom, who has seen it before, got this smile that told me I was absolutely correct (note: I WAS correct).  I shrugged and said, “I guess it’s the writer in me.”

I’m not sure that’s an entirely accurate statement, though.  I’m not sure that there is a writer “in me”.  Rather, I am a writer.  All of me.  Seems so simplistic in its statement, but true.  Being a writer affects a lot of aspects of life, generally in a positive way.  I narrate daily activities in my head.  I am constantly evaluating names for character quality.  I look for names on road signs, billboards, movie credits.  I describe scenes in my head, rather than just looking at them.   I evaluate and critique dialogue in movies and TV shows.

Recently, my biggest writer idiosyncrasy has been editing.  I think a large part of this is because I am doing a total edit re-haul on my last novel.  I am going through three books currently (reading one, one on my IPod, one on CD in my car) and I am finding it is very difficult to just enjoy the story anymore.  A part of my brain is constantly evaluating.  And not just the whole: I evaluate every sentence.  I am forever finding myself saying “that was a really good sentence” or “I would have put it that way” or “too many adjectives.”  Earlier today I yelled at the book in my car, “Ahh! You just used the word ‘candle’ five times in two sentences!  Too many ‘candles’!”  These are comments I make to myself while editing all the time, but I just can’t turn it off.  Not sure if this is a good thing or a bad thing.  I guess it’s just the writer in me trying to take over all of me.

 

– S.D.Bullard

~ by sdbullard on July 1, 2012.

2 Responses to “The Writer in Me”

  1. Oh man, I totally get where you’re coming from with the candle thing. It drives me crazy when people overuse words. Seriously, get a thesaurus! You have the entire internet at your disposal! Twilight was a bit of a guilty pleasure but it was *rife* with that kind of thing. :s

Leave a Reply

 
