Finding a Connection

So, I’m two days, three chapters and just over 4,000 words into my NaNoWriMo novel.  I still don’t have a title (I have my people working on it 😉 ) but we’re moving right along.  The thing is, it feels strange.  I mean, I like these characters.  In some ways, they have just come so easily to me, stepped right into their roles, and developed their personalities practically without me.  But they don’t feel like mine yet.  In some ways, it’s like I’m writing someone else’s story.  Don’t get me wrong: this is entirely my own, original idea and characters.  They just don’t seem like it.

I have spent somewhere around six years focusing on one world, and the characters in it.  And I’m not done with them, not by a long shot.  But for the purposes of NaNo, I’ve had to take a step back from them and engage with other characters.  I feel almost unfaithful.   I feel good about this novel, the story, the characters (not the title 😛 ) and the progress I’ve made so far.  Hopefully it will feel more real, and more like mine soon.  Until then, I’ll just keep plugging away (and enjoying it!).  Happy typing to all my fellow NaNo-ers, and all other writers, too!

 

~ S.D. Bullard

~ by sdbullard on November 3, 2013.

One Response to “Finding a Connection”

  1. Great job! Keep it up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
