Oh. My. Word.

Nerve-wracking.  That’s the word I just used to explain to my friend the feeling of actually pushing that “send” button on the email and submitting a query.  Exhilarating.  Terrifying.  These words might also work.  I’ve been planning to submit my 2013 NaNoWriMo book TSOS (not the actual title, just the initials) for some months now.  Life threw a couple of exciting curveballs and I haven’t really been in the position to take on this project until now, so it hasn’t become so scarily real until, well, really tonight.  I’ve spent quite a bit of time honing it (and by honing I mean periodically opening the file and bemoaning the dreadful state of it).

I think I’ve mentioned before (once or twice, maybe) how much I loathe and generally suck at writing queries (see “Scary Query”).  No matter how much I try, I seem to struggle when it comes to boiling down my self-proclaimed masterpieces into two paragraphs that will entice an agent to even consider considering them.

Last night, after spending several days struggling and tweaking and pretty much hating what I had written, I had an epiphany while I was brushing my teeth (no, it has nothing to do with anything; just an amusing anecdote to set the stage).  The major problem was I was not getting to the “punch line” of what the book was about until the end of the third paragraph (minor problem: the fact that there WAS a third paragraph.  And a fourth one after that).  So, while brushing my teeth, I took the “punch line” and stuck it right up in the first sentence.  And with that, I was able to completely rework the whole thing. It might still suck, but at least I’m confident enough in it now to send it out.

And that’s where the terrifying starts.  And I realized that part of the mind-numbing nerve-wrackingness is stemming from how long it’s been since I’ve actually sent out a query letter.  I spent 5 ½ years writing Alyraekas and it’s been probably close to two years since I completed it.  I still don’t have it to the place where I’m ready to submit it to the publishing world, so the only query I’ve written for it was the one I took to the Backspace Writer’s Conference.  And I’m pretty sure it sucked.  So, as it dawned on me this evening, I haven’t actually sent out a query letter for probably 7 or more years.  I queried just about every agent who represents Sci-Fi for Blue Skies once it was complete.  I’m almost scared to go back and see how bad that query letter was.   I wonder if I’ll think the same about this letter in 7 years.

But, it doesn’t matter now.  Because I hit the send button.  Like Elsa recommended, I “Let it go”.  And something good will happen.  Either way.  Either I’ll get a yes, and I don’t need to explain the good there.  Or, I’ll get a no, and I’ll rework it some more and try again.  This is the game.  This is the world.  This is how we roll.  Okay, enough of the bravado: Oh. My. Word!

~ by sdbullard on February 17, 2015.

One Response to “Oh. My. Word.”

  1. Good luck! 🙂

    I did the same thing twice this week! Yikes!

Leave a Reply

 
