Go?

I’m just a coward. That’s the long and short of it. Or, rather, just the short of it. Here’s the long of it. I don’t want to commit to something unless I am certain I can succeed. On the other hand, the whole reason I want to commit to it is to force myself to succeed.

Since that was clear as mud, here’s the deal. I’m thinking of engaging in a self-imposed NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month). This, of course, seems silly because, if I’m the only one doing it, it can’t possibly be “national.” It’s really just the idea and the commitment to the challenge I want. The idea behind NaNoWriMo is to write 50,000 words in a month. That’s a little over 1,500 words a day, if you don’t miss any days. That’s a lot of writing.   A lot of words. It’s a huge commitment.

The thing is, I know for a fact I can do it. Because I’ve done it. In 2013 I participated in the actual NaNoWriMo in November, and wrote the first (or essentially the first) 50,000 words in TSOS. And during that time I was working a full-time job which very often ended up taking way more than 40 hours, raising and training a puppy, participating in a search and rescue organization, volunteering once a week at my church and (if I’m remembering correctly) directing the children’s drama group musical at my church. I was sleeping (if I was lucky) five hours a night. And I took on NaNoWriMo as a challenge. And I succeeded.

I am far less busy right now. And I need a kick in the pants when it comes to my writing. I have two WIPs at the moment and if I don’t do something, I’m afraid I’m going to stalemate on both of them. So, I’ve got tonight to decide if I’m going to challenge myself to my own personal NaNoWriMo in the moth of June. It’s not abiding by all the rules: I’m not starting a completely new novel from scratch on the first day. Instead, it will just be the challenge to write 50,000 words in the month. The words can be on Rune or G&A’s story. Even if I split it up and each novel gets 25,000 words, I’ll be way ahead of where I am now and maybe by then, the just over 1,500 words a day will be habit.

Since I have more time, I also think I need to make it a goal to edit at least one page of Alyraekas a day. I do much better under pressure, when I have a goal, when I have a challenge I want to meet, a desire to succeed. I think this is what I need. I just need to get over my Cowardly Lion mentality. So, should I go for it? Ready, set…

~ by sdbullard on May 31, 2015.

One Response to “Go?”

  1. It definitely is a great way to gain some motivation, which it sounds like you need. Especially if you work well under pressure. If you need fans cheering you on along the way, you know you have some here. 🙂 Whether you decide to do it or not, hope everything goes well with your current WIP’s! I have a few sitting around too in different states of development, so don’t feel too bad. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
