Flash Fiction

I am an avid reader of Janet Reid’s blog.  Though she doesn’t represent my genre of writing, her tips and advice are generally applicable to the writing public in general.  I have spent hours reading through Query Shark until my mind has gone numb from the plethora of queries and revisions.  I look forward to my daily email with her answers and tips.  I also look forward to her periodic Flash Fiction contests.  Unfortunately, given one thing and another, I always manage NOT to get an entry in.  When, this past weekend, there was an announcement of a Flash Fiction contest accompanied by a proclamation it would be the last for a while, I determined I WOULD get an entry in.  And so I did.  While I didn’t win, I managed to make it into the top 10 out of some 79 entries.  I was pretty pleased with that.  So, the challenge was create a story, 100 words or fewer, using the words remove, escape, away, lull and spare.  I have included my entry here.

Yes, it’s sad.

Yes, I do that a lot.

No, I don’t know why.

Yes, it IS only 44 words (if you know me or my writing at all, you are probably now gasping in disbelief: I used under 50% of the allotted words?!).

Here you go.  Enjoy.  Or don’t.

~~~~~

Whitewash on the walls removes the stain of powder-blue hopes.

Toys, smiling in plush anticipation, escape in Goodwill bags.

Runaway dreams cling to disassembled furniture.

Echoes of a lullaby never sung drip through the nursery.

Not a nursery. Nothing, now, but a spare room.

 

~ S.D. Bullard

~ by sdbullard on August 17, 2015.

3 Responses to “Flash Fiction”

  1. I loved your piece the first time I read it, and I was really glad Janet gave it the credit it deserved.

  2. Wow, that’s so powerful! And congrats on making the top 10! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
