“Out of the Opened Door”

I’ve been afraid to mention this. Afraid I might jinx it. Afraid they’re somehow going to take it back. But, here goes. It’s official: MY SHORT STORY IS PUBLISHED! I wrote and entered a short story for a contest on the On the Premises, website, an online literary magazine. Out of 216 entries, my story took second place. I was pretty psyched about that. I was even more psyched that this means I will be paid, and my story published on their site, making this my first official publishing credit. MY FIRST OFFICIAL PUBLISHING CREDIT!

That’s big. In the world of writing, that’s HUGE! All of I’ve wanted (in my writing career) since I was eight, is to have a novel published. People hear I’ve written books and they want to know: “Are they published?” And the answer is always, “No.” Well, the answer is still no, but I am one step closer.

The world of publishing is a dark, scary, mean, tumultuous, dangerous landscape. It will chew you up and spit you out, and then stomp on you for fun. And to them, it’s nothing personal: it’s business.   But to the writer, it’s the MOST personal thing.   When agents, editors, publishers reject our work, it stabs deeply.   So when someone says “yes”, it’s a validation. Someone telling us what we (obviously) already know: our writing is good! Our stories are good! Our characters are good! And the more “yes”es we get, the better our place in that scary publishing world becomes. Because if agents, editors and publishers can look at previous publishing credits and say “Well, someone thought their writing was worthwhile,” they might, MIGHT, be more likely to take a chance.

So, without further ado, here is a link to Issue #26 of On the Premises and my story “Out of the Opened Door.” Feel free to take a peek!

~ S.D. Bullard

~ by sdbullard on October 18, 2015.

2 Responses to ““Out of the Opened Door””

  1. Congratulations! That is so exciting! 🙂

  2. Wow! Congratulations! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
